My QUIT DATE is Aug. 6th 2017

No more smoking for me

It’s been a week since I went to the doctor to talk about options to help me quit smoking. After consideration of a few things, we decided that Zyban would be the best option for me. I was directed to continue smoking like I was for one week while taking the pills twice a day. After day 7, cut back.

I didn’t think it would be this easy. I really do not have the urge to smoke anymore. There are times, like when I first wake up or after dinner that I feel like a cigarette but going from 1 1/2 packs a day to maybe 5 cigarettes a day is quite the accomplishment for me. I’ve tried so many times before without any success.

The only downside to taking this medication I can say for me is having insomnia. The first few days that I took the medication, there was no sleeping. I tossed and turned in bed all night. It got so bad that my husband actually left the room to get sleep. Last night was the first night that I can recall getting some sleep and that didn’t happen until about 3:30 am.

I’m super excited to see how this goes. I’ve been more excited about getting back into running. Before now, you would be lucky to see me run to the mailbox. I actually ran a mile the other day with my husband and kids. It felt AMAZING!¬† I have done some Shaun T. (Insanity) workouts. He can really get you movin’ and groovin’.

I know this isn’t the miracle pill and there may be a long road ahead of me but with the support I have from family and friends, I will be able to say that I am smoke-free soon.

Has anyone else used this medication to quit smoking? If so, what was your experience? How many of you have quit smoking?

2 thoughts on “My QUIT DATE is Aug. 6th 2017”

  1. HI! Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post What happens after you quit smoking. Congrats on your desire to quit. I hope you succeed. Don’t have a clue about Zyban, but if it works for you go for it. I am also a big New England Patriots fan. Best of luck with your blogging and quitting smoking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

